Last Modified September 29,2026

Roll-Over Re-activation

  1. Overview
  2. What is Roll-Over Re-activation
  3. Without Roll-Over Re-activation
  4. Roll-Over Re-activation - Quick Implementation Guide
  5. In the software_DNA Control Panel
  6. In your Application with the DNA API

For Single-User / Multi-Computer licenses, you can choose to enable or disable the Roll-Over Re-activation option. There are advantages to each scenario which are detailed below, as well as some considerations for the coding of the software_DNA logic within your application which are explained below.

Note that Multi-User Licenses do not use Roll-Over Re-activation.

 

With Roll-Over Re-activation

Re-activation of a License is typically required when a User is replacing one of his computers and now wants to install your application on his new computer. If this new installation is within the limits that you have set on the maximum number of computers for this License (i.e. 1,2 or 3), then the re-activation will be allowed. If this new installation would exceed the maximum number of computers allowed, then Roll-Over Re-activation will allow this new computer to be activated and will disable the previously activated computers to keep the number of computers within the maximum limit.

With Roll-Over Re-activation:

  • The User can re-activate on a new computer exceeding the maximum number of computers without your intervention

  • Previously activated computers will be disabled automatically.

  • The user does not need to first explicitely de-activate a computer/license, providing a less complex User experience (a consideration if the previous computer was damaged, lost or stolen).

  • The User will need to provide a "New and Never Used Password".

  • The number of re-activations allowed is controlled by the Re-Activation Lockout settings of the DNA Product.

 

Without Roll-Over Re-activation

When the User attempts to install on a new computer that would exceed the maximum number of computers allowed by the License, the re-activation will be rejected. The User must first de-activate one of the previously activated computers before he can proceed to a new installation.

A key difference is that the User will not be asked for a "New and Never Used Password". The License Password will remain the same unless changed by the User via the License Portal / Manager.

Without Roll-Over Re-activation:

  • The User cannot re-activate on a new computer exceeding the maximum number of computers of the License.

  • The User must explicitely de-activate a previously activated computer before re-activating on the new computer.

  • The User may need your intervention if he has forgotten to de-activate the previous computer (a consideration if the previous computer was damaged, lost or stolen).

  • The User does not need to change his License Password.

  • The number of re-activations allowed is controlled by the Re-Activation Lockout settings of the DNA Product.

 

Roll-Over Re-activation - Quick Implementation Guide

Enabling or disabling the Roll-Over Re-activation option will work with all of the existing software_DNA features and options, including eCommerce Connections, for Single-User / Multi-Computer Licenses. Multi-User Licenses do not use Roll-Over Re-activation.

The key changes to consider in the DNA Logic with Roll-Over Re-activation are:

  • The response codes of the DNA_Query() API Call
  • The need for a New and Never Used Password and the DNA_Reactivate() API Call
  • The need for a De-Activate License button or menu item

Remember that when the License is activated on the 1st computer, it is treated as an Activation and the DNA_Activate() API call is used. When activating on a 2nd computer (or re-activating on the 1st computer), it is treated as a Re-activation, and the DNA_Reactivate() API call is used.

 

In the software_DNA Control Panel

To enable or disable Roll-Over Re-activation for a Product, view the Product Configuration and edit () the License Settings for this product.

NOTE: Once the product is ACTIVE, you will not be able to change this option. Perform all your testing under TESTING MODE

 

In your Application with the DNA API

Consult the Developer Guide for details on process flow and exact API call syntax (API Calls below are generic - use the correct syntax for your development environment):

With Roll-Over Re-activation Without Roll-Over Re-activation
User GUI Request the License Activation Code Request the License Activation Code
DNA_Query() API Reponse Codes ERR_ACTIVATION_EXPECTED (8)
ERR_REACTIVATION_EXPECTED (9)
ERR_ACTIVATION_EXPECTED_MU (19)
ERR_REACTIVATION_EXPECTED_MU (20)
The DNA_Query() API will return different response codes which will allow you to present different GUI screens based on the scenario.
User GUI for Activations Request a License Password and email (optional) Request a License Password and email (optional)
User GUI for Re-activations Request the Current Password and a New and Never Used Password Request the Current Password only
Activation API (1st computer) DNA_Activate(product_key, activation_code, password, email) DNA_Activate(product_key, activation_code, password, email)
Re-Activation API (other computers) DNA_Reactivate(product_key, activation_code, password, new_password) DNA_Reactivate(product_key, activation_code, password, "")
When not using Roll-Over Re-activation, use a <blank> as the <new_password> parameter for the DNA_Reactivate() API call.
User GUI for De-Activation Not required Add a button or menu item De-Activate License and request the Current License Password
De-activation API Not Required DNA_Deactivate(product_key, password)
Validation of the License DNA_Validate(product_key) DNA_Validate(product_key)
Perform this at start-up and optionaly, throughout your application for increased protection.

If you have any questions, click on Tech Support to contact us