Last Modified February 15, 2022

Single-User / Multi-Computer Licensing

  1. Overview
  2. With Roll-Over Re-activation
  3. Without Roll-Over Re-activation
  4. User Authentication - Use of a License Code Password - highly recommended
  5. Disabling User Authentication and the License Code Password
  6. Multi-Computer versus Multi-User Licensing

 

Multi-Computer licensing will allow a user to install and use the software on more than one computer using the same License Activation Code (up to 3 computers). A typical use of Single-User / Multi-Computer Licensing is when you would like to allow a user to install the software on both a desktop computer and a laptop computer.

The Multi-Computer feature will keep track of the anonymous <machineID> of each computer. Re-activations will count against the re-activation lockout and against the Multi-Computer counter.

There are two important options to consider for Multi-Computer licenses:

  • Roll-Over Re-activation
  • User Authentication

To enable or disable Roll-Over Re-activation for a Product, view the Product Configuration and edit () the License Settings for this product.

Advantages of each scenario are detailed below.

 

With Roll-Over Re-activation

Re-activation of a License is typically required when a User is replacing one of his computers and now wants to install your application on his new computer. If this new installation is within the limits that you have set on the maximum number of computers for this License (i.e. 1,2 or 3), then the re-activation will be allowed. If this new installation would exceed the maximum number of computers allowed, then Roll-Over Re-activation will allow this new computer to be activated and will disable the previously activated computers to keep the number of computers within the maximum limit.

With Roll-Over Re-activation:

  • The User can re-activate on a new computer exceeding the maximum number of computers without your intervention

  • Previously activated computers will be disabled automaticatlly.

  • The user does not need to first explicitely de-activate a computer/device, providing a less complex User experience (a consideration if the previous computer was damaged, lost or stolen).

  • The User will need to provide a "New and Never Used Password".

  • The number of re-activations allowed is controlled by the Re-Activation Lockout settings of the DNA Product.

 

Without Roll-Over Re-activation

When the User attempts to install on a new computer that would exceed the maximum number of computers allowed by the License, the re-activation will be rejected. The User must first de-activate one of the previously activated computers before he can proceed to a new installation.

A key difference is that the User will not be asked for a "New and Never Used Password". The License Password will remain the same unless changed by the User via the License Portal / Manager.

Without Roll-Over Re-activation:

  • The User cannot re-activate on a new computer exceeding the maximum number of computers of the License.

  • The User must explicitely de-activate a previously activated computer before re-activating on the new computer.

  • The User may need your intervention if he has forgotten to de-activate the previous computer (a consideration if the previous computer was damaged, lost or stolen).

  • The User does not need to change his License Password.

  • The number of re-activations allowed is controlled by the Re-Activation Lockout settings of the DNA Product.

 

User Authentication - Use of a License Code Password - highly recommended

User Authentication adds a License Code Password (max 16 characters) associated with the License Activation Code and is unique to software_DNA. The License Code Password is a second level of security and authentication that provides several benefits to your Users while reducing your Technical Support efforts:

  • Users can self-reinstall their software application on a new computer / device without the need to de-activate on the previous computer, and without your intervention, within some reasonable configurable limits (the Re-activation Lockout.

  • The User's License is more secure, requiring the License Code Password to install and re-install the application

  • The User has access to the myLicense Portal that allows them to manage their License Code, including retrieving their password, changing their email address associated with the License, etc.

One part of any secure Licensing system like software_DNA is locking the License to a specific computer. The challenge comes when the legitimate user changes / loses / damages his computer and now needs to re-install the application on a new computer and more often than not, has not or was not able to de-activate the application on the previous computer. With software_DNA and the use of a License Code Password, the user can himself securely re-install the application on a new computer, while still protecting you from piracy of your application.

 

Disabling User Authentication and the License Code Password

In some situations and for some applications, you may want to disable User Authentication and the need for a License Code Password knowing the software application is still "locked" to a computer. Before a User can re-install the application on a new computer, the User must remember to De-Activate the License on the current computer, or request your assistance to reset the License from the DNA Control Panel.

Most of the software_DNA Licensing features and options are fully supported when User Authentication is disabled, but with the following constraints:

  • Multi-User ("x"-seat) licensing is not supported

  • The "Do-ALL" Windows API Call is not supported

  • Users do not have access to the myLicense Portal to manage their License, although they can still retrieve the list of Licenses associated with their email address, in case they have forgotten or lost their License Activation Code

  • Users do not have access to the public Offline Activation portal, although you can continue to perform Offline Activations on behalf of your users from the DNA Control Panel.

  • some coding changes for the software_DNA API calls are required in your application to implement

  • Once the Product is ACTIVE, this setting can not be changed

View the No User Authentication Quick Implementation Guide in the Guides section.

 

Multi-Computer versus Multi-User Licensing

Multi-Computer is intended for use by one(1) License owner who would like to install the software on multiple computers, such as his Desktop and his Laptop

Multi-User Licensing is intended for use by multiple users of one organization who share the License Activation Code. You can have 10's, 100's and 1000's of seats per Multi-user License whereas Permitted Activations will only allow 1, 2 or 3 computers

You can not mix Multi-Computer and Multi-User Licenses within the same DNA Product.